Frequent scribe

Irresponsible boyfriend

My boyfriend and I have been together for 3yrs - in that time he has never had constant employment. He has anxiety/depression just like me. He hasn't seen any psychiatrists/doctors long enough to get any help. He is always stressed and unhappy. He is judgemental, irresponsible, and has deeply seeded issues with attatchment. I have leant him substantial amounts of money and not received it back. I'm a student - I'm trying to deal with my own mental health issues + his at the same time while trying to build a life for myself. I've often written posts on here about him before. It seems like he is an awful person from what I've just said, but he is very smart, caring, funny and loving. However his behaviour is now affecting me and everyone around him. He refuses to accept that he is causing any problems. I've spent my inheritance money trying to help him, but theres been no change and no support from his family. He goes to uni now which is great, but he is still so irresponsible - and it is almost like he is my son - which is disturbing. I try to avoid having sex, I hate it to be perfectly honest. If I move back home with my parents he won't be able to pay rent. His parents wont take him back. I can't leave him because he doesn't have the capacity to care for himself. I feel like I need to be selfish and move back home, but at the same time I need to look after him otherwise theres a good chance he might try to hurt himself. I'm tired of having to pay for him and be responsible for his things. 

Any advice?

Mod

Re: Irresponsible boyfriend

Hey @GraceInSpace93, that's sounds like a really tough situation to be in. On the one hand, you really want to be there for him, but on the other hand it's becoming increasingly difficult to do so and still look after yourself.