Casual scribe

Academic Misconduct/Plagiarism

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this type of question sorry.

I am a first year Law student with ambitions of becoming a lawyer.I have just been told by my university that part of my assignment has been found with plagiarism.I made a mistake by not referencing properly after paraphrasing as I wasn't aware of this. This was not intentional and due to time pressure and ignorance, I have missed out on referencing quite a lot.Now that they have found this as a major misconduct, this will go for an investigation and committee.I am quite stressed and this never happened in my studies before. I don't know how not to think about this as my dream is to become a lawyer and I am scared that this is going to affect my future studies.I have heard that because this is my first year the admission to legal profession won't have any issues.Can anyone put some light into this, please?

Mod

Re: Academic Misconduct/Plagiarism

Hey @bob78, welcome to RO Smiley Happy

Being accused of plaigiarism can definitely be really stressful as a student, especially if you're aiming to do really well in your studies, as you are. I can't really speak in terms of being a law student, but I have been to university, so I can talk a bit about how investigations like this go.

If you're really worried about how the investigation will go, it might be a good idea to see if you have some kind of student union or representative you can talk to about your misconduct. They could give you more insight into the whole process, and help you out with it where they can. 

As for your future studies, usually one issue of plaigiarism shouldn't affect it too much, but if you're not totally sure you could talk to the faculty. It's perfectly understandable to feel anxious about being told you plagiarised in an assignment, and for the investigation itself its best to be completely honest and let them know it was a mistake on your part.