Builder

Public speaking anxiety?

I'm in my second year of uni and this semester we have an oral presentation worth 5% of our overall grade.I have a very severe fear of public speaking which persisted all throughout high school and last time I had a presentation back in high school, 10 minutes before I was meant to start I had a really bad panic attack, broke down crying, left the room and didn't end up doing it. I felt humiliated and I lost marks off that assignment but I didn't care just because the thought of public speaking was even worse. How should I approach the situation? I'm about 90% sure that if I try to do it I will have another panic attack and break down and make a complete fool of myself. I've also thought that because it's only worth 5% will it matter too much if I just don't go to the presentations and not present? Or should I talk to my lecturer and see if there is an alternative, however I'm really embarrassed about feeling this way. Also I did see a psychologist about this fear when I was in high school but I found that it did not help me at all and over time my fear got even worse. Advice would be appreciated.

Mod Squad

Re: Public speaking anxiety?

@lr8991 hmmm it's a common problem from what I understand. 

I personally don't have this issue, but I have had friends that have watched a bit of youtube to help coax them through Smiley Happy 

I know this TED one is super popular [link here]

I think the best thing we can do is to face our fears, and remember that it's okay to make mistakes whilst we are facing them. Sometimes it can take quite a while. Another of my peers used hypnosis to help them, which is a bit alternative, but some people find quite helpful.

I understand feeling embarassed however please don't be hard on yourself Smiley Happy Some of the most influential people started out incredibly shy in the public eye,  @j95 @redhead @DruidChild what are your thoughts?

Super star contributor

Hey @lr8991! Welcome to RO Smiley Happy