Mod

career woes

So (this has been going on for awhile) I'm feeling really shit about my life choices. Backstory time, I'm in my second year of a primary education bachelors. And this semester, I've been doing prac. This week, my block prac. (almost to the end!) 

Today the uni observer person came and watched and I basically felt like I was being told I'm shit. She complimented me and all that but it was all "oh you need paperwork" and "more organisation" and "where's your lesson plan?". It's not like what she was saying was wrong, because it wasn't. Which means I just feel shit about myself because I can't do crap. I doubt I'll ever be good at most of teachery things and I'm seriously doubting myself. I feel like I'm going to fail everything Smiley Sad 

Mod Squad

Re: career woes

Hey @N1ghtW1ng thanks for starting the thread. Sorry to hear you're feeling shit about your life choices.. Are there things outside of what's gone on with your placement that have made you feel this way?

In regards to the prac, I think it's good to remember sometimes appointed mentors/seniors in our field's just aren't too strong at constructively communicating to interns/grads. I have been in a similar position in a previous career, it can really shake you. Do you think it is possible the way this observer gave you feedback maybe influenced how you feel overall?

Builder

Hey @N1ghtW1ng

Man, that really sucks. Some people can really forget about what it was like to be new and learning. Everyone has things to work on.
You said that the prac observer complimented you, what did they say? It's important to remind ourselves of what we're good at and what we've done well.
You are only in your second year, you still have two years of learning ahead of you to learn all you need to know. Is there a way you can turn around this negative feedback into goals you can make.

Eg.
"You don't have a very good lesson plan"