cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Adulting: Looking for work

@BunnyWalks Sorry to hear things have been disruptive for you lately - it can be really tricky to balance all of these things when you're studying too. It's great that you're working on the CV and doing some volunteer work, how have you found the volunteer work you've been doing?

@May_Sorry that you've had bad experiences too Smiley Sad Sadly, I don't think it's uncommon for young people. I try to focus on the positive from the experiences. At least I learned a few new things and I had been interning at one of the locations for several months, so I got a lot of experience in something a paid employee should have really been doing. I also had another couple of internships where I was treated better and I got good references out of them, so there are some nicer employers out there.

For me, it was mostly the way the employers went about it that was the problem for me. I wouldn't have minded if they had told me that the internship was going to be for a set amount of time or if they had just told me that they now need to hire someone with more experience as it was a start-up when I was hired. But the way they tried to make it feel like it was my fault and burn their bridges with me was hurtful. I was also upset that the owner promised me a better, expanded role a few weeks before only to turn around and 'fire' me. If I had been a paid employee and working there longer, I believe it would have been an unfair dismissal.