cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dating older people.

Um hi this is my first time on this site. So well I am a bi female (I prefer woman though) and there is this girl I like. She likes me back too but we aren't dating cause of some personal stuff she has going on. That's not what I want to talk about though. I like her very much yet we have a bit of an age difference. She has just turned nineteen, and has friends who are anywhere from 16 to 22 or something like that. I have only just turned 16... 

I have tried to look up laws on this since she is a legal adult and I am still a minor. I can only find laws about actually having sex, but nothing about dating (which of course doesn't necessarily involve sex).

Does anybody know anything to do with this sort of situation?

Re: Dating older people.

Hey  @liraeli , I disagree with @pandality  with words I don't care to express.

First, welcome to RO. I'm new to and I've already found it's usually helpful.

Some people just have a preference for older or young, it's like having a preference for boy or girl. Nobody can understand it, it just happens and for now that's all we know. My parents are 12 years apart and it doesn't bother anyone and it doesn't bother me or anyone else.

Secondly, I can relate. I'm gay and I've always had crushes on older women ( I once had a crush on my friend's wife...I win Smiley Tongue). It's the same. It's preference, and nobody knows why or how but it happens.

On the laws, I do recall hearing something about it being illegal for under 18’s to have sex with over 18’s but I don’t think there are any laws about dating. At least I don’t recall the police officer that came to my school to speak about it saying anything about it.

Good luck. I honestly hope things work out! Tell us how it goes.

-GP (I have no medical qualification, I just reaslise that's what my initials are)

Hi @liraeli – as @GirlPentheus said, welcome! Smiley Happy