cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discouraged about finding a job

Hey everyone, so I've been looking for a job since I graduated high school a year and a half ago. I'm 19 and don't have any work experience in the past so it's been difficult applying to so many things, just to not even be considered but I've just kept going. There have been times where I'll receive a rejection email and I'll be saddened by it but eventually move on and try again.

However, I just found out I wasn't selected for yet another role and I feel so unbelievably disheartened this time that I don't feel I can pick myself up again. I felt so optimistic about it this time. I got an interview for a start, which has been an incredibly rare thing for me so far. Usually, I feel like interviews just haven't gone well and I haven't presented myself as being confident or capable enough because I've felt uncomfortable or haven't really believed what I am saying, but this time I was so optimistic.

I felt so passionate about working there and the interviewer was really friendly and I really thought that I had a chance and had come off really well this time. I was really looking forward to the future and looking forward to working there, and I didn't want to get my hopes up but it felt like it could be the best interview I will have in my life. 

I also just really want to know why I wasn't selected, I know they were hiring a fair few people so not understanding where I went wrong or could do better is making it harder for me to move on this time.

So now that once again I'm back to square one, I don't even feel like trying anymore. I feel like I'll never be successful if I can't even get accepted when I've felt my most comfortable and confident. This really makes me anxious too because the longer I am without a job, the harder it is going to get and I don't even feel like it's worth it.

Any advice on how to move forwards from here?

Re: Discouraged about finding a job