cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drifting friend

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this but I felt I needed some outside opinions..

Lately it feels like I am drifitng away from my best friend, who is literally the only close friend I have. Part of me is telling me it is for the better but then I would have abosutely no one..

It feels like I am the only one who cares about our friendship and it feels like a one way friendship, this isn't the first time its happened and I'm not sure what to do..

A few years ago when my dad passed away, people were only there for me on the day but then days, weeks, months and years after when I really need people to care no one was around, which is why I thought those "friends" don't deserve a spot in my life.

I feel like its happening again, but it'll hurt so much if I lose her coz i'll be all alone, but at the same time I'm hurting coz I feel alone in the friendship.

I dont know if this makes any sense but any advice would help! thank you Smiley Happy

Highlighted

Re: Drifting friend

Hi @kaykay_10 Welcome to ReachOut! Its really great that you're wise enough to think this through and ask for some outside opinions rather than just throwing in the towel, you're obviously insightful. Personally ive found that over the years friends drift away all the time, friends i had a few years ago that i was extreamely close with i now hardly speak to at all. This can be really sad but also sometimes necessary. I definitly know what it feels like to be in a one sided relationship and its not a good feeling, but perhaps this is a new door in your life opening up to new people and experiences? I know this was the case for me. Do you have any other family you could perhaps talk to about this? Or spend some more time with? Maybe you could try joining a group, like a sports club, thats often a great way to make friends! Here is some info on friendships that might help you Smiley Happy