cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Fear of Missing Out (FoMO)

I seriously suffer from fomo, like big time! I graduated high school last year and have had a gap year this year, just working and trying to figure myself out but seeing my friends go off to uni and get full time jobs really makes me feel like I've missed the memo you know? Like I'm supposed to be doing more with my life but I'm not. I'm always seeing my friends hanging out with new people and doing cool things but I can never join because money is a little tight at the moment. Fomo is honestly such a hard thing to deal with Smiley Sad

I experienced this a fair bit over the last few months actually. I've still not yet been to a music festival and it used to bother me, but not as much any more. Coming from such a sheltered family, my parents never really let us engage with friends outside of school - the focus was so heavily on school and it was tunnel vision from there on it.

Over the last few months I've rekindled with a high school mate of mine, and admittedly, I went to my first house party at 24years old! Since then, I've made up for the FoMO of my young teen years.
A lot of social anxiety was involved too though, I was almost phobic of embarrassing myself, hence I actively avoided a lot of events.

Also, personally, I'm easily affected by social media. My friends have all travelled. When I wanted to, my mum said no and now with a 4 year old I desperately feel like i'll never experience travelling like my friends have. And it's quiet a frequent thing too, because even in conversation people tell you all the amazing things they've done, or are going to do and a voice just goes "i wont be able to do that #FoMO"