cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Gap Year to improve depression?

Hi there,

So I have a form of depression, I reckon it's mild yet I feel as if it's progressing into something worse, 

and I have seen counsellors and regularly a psychologist so that helps.

But my question I need some advice and perspective on is: should I take a gap year after VCE year 12 to improve my depression? As right now I feel so stressed and pre ocupied by homework and assignments and with the little energy I have 

I'm not making much change. 

might have some anixety too.

Anyone got experience on a gap year they took to improve this problem?

Highlighted

Re: Gap Year to improve depression?

Hey Nightsky,

I don't have any experience taking a Gap Year since I'm still in my last year of schooling but I think it is a great idea. Do you know what you want to do after you finish? If you don't, taking a gap year can help you delve into the stuff you find interesting to try and find the thing you want to do. Or, if you do, taking a gap year can help prepare you for your future, just give you that much needed break for you to travel, have new experiences, meet people and so on. 

I think it will help you to improve your depression, just so long as you don't spend the year doing absolutely nothing, which would probably cradle your depression until it's ready to come out again. 

Like I said, I don't have much experience but I hope something I said has helped you. Good luck Smiley Happy

N1ghtW1ng

Highlighted

I never had a gap year, but then again, I wasn't diagnosed with depression until this year, although I've been suffering from it for at least 8 years.

If you decide not to have a gap year, but you're too anxious to go full time, don't hesitate to start as a part time student. If you're still seeing a psychologist, you can register for disability support services. They have helped me immensely.