cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Homesickness Abroad

Hi all! 

I am an Aussie and I’m currently studying abroad in Canada, my first week was really rough- lots of homesickness and anxiety about whether I had made a really bad decision to study abroad. I’ve been here about 5 weeks now and other than the first week I’ve been having a blast- made lots of friends, enjoying my studies and exploring my new home. But every now and then I get really sad- missing my parents, my friends and all the other relative comforts of home. I was wondering if anyone else had experience with this and how they overcame it or if there are any tips and tricks to get over this?

Re: Homesickness Abroad

Hi there @TB_99 and welcome to ReachOut!

Studying abroad is such a fantastic opportunity, I've never been to Canada myself but I've heard it is a wonderful country! It can certainly be a difficult decision to make, whether it's a good idea or not, but I'm glad that you've been enjoying yourself. 

Homesickness is a difficult feeling, especially when you're all the way in another country. I also went overseas for a year to do study, and there were absolutely times where I missed home though I am still very glad I went. Some of the things that helped me were that I could easily contact and talk to my parents, though it's not the same as being with them, it still helped ease the homesickness. 

Missing the comforts of home too is common with travelling or moving out, are there any activities or objects that you liked from home? Sometimes, doing an activity you did at home, or finding something from your home can bring some of the home comfort to you, what do you think?

-----

I am finishing with ReachOut this week, say good-bye here. I'll miss you all!

Thanks for your response!

Talking with friends and family absolutely make me feel better but sometimes due to work and the time difference I can’t talk which is usually when I start feeling blue.