cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

I want to study psychology!

Hey everyone!

Seeing as there's quite a few people interested in psychology appearing on these forums why not make a thread about it? I study psychology at university and would love to have a discussion Smiley Very Happy

Maybe some questions could be: why do/did you want to study psychology? What are you most interested in learning about? What makes you most excited about it? What makes you scared about it? How did you get there, or what do you want to know about getting there? What advice do you want/can give on this topic? And anything else you can think of! 

giphy

Highlighted

Re: I want to study psychology!

@StormySeas17 Thanks for this thread!
I'm not studying Psychology but I am studying a Bachelor of Counselling.. so very similar and I'd love to contribute anyway Smiley Happy
Why do/did you want to study psychology (Counselling)?
I enrolled in my course because I was really NOT enjoying my full-time job in childcare. I was stressed, exhausted, burnt out and the lack of care for the educators in my centre was not good. I've had my fair share of struggles with anxiety and anorexia and I really felt I had more to offer in my existence. Being an ear to listen for someone who may be struggling, connect with others and serve a greater purpose then my self. I'm interested on doing counselling with children and adolescents, for a few reasons:
1. I already have a whole lot of knoweledge about children due to my previous studies and years of work within that early childhood care industry.
2. Throughout my studies I'v found that a lot (not all) of peoples conerns, issues and struggles seem to relate back to en expereince they had during their childhood. Or have developed certain core beleifs about themselves, the world and life in general from their early childhood experiences and even directly from their parents/caregivers.