cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keeping Secrets From Your Loved Ones

Hello. I'm new to this, so please excuse me if I do this wrong, but I just needed somewhere to talk about my issues without the weight of judgement influencing what I say.

Anyway, for a while now, about six months, I have been in a relationship with a boy. He's very sweet. But... he doesn't know I'm non-binary. Nobody except for this sweet girl who catches my bus knows. It's not like my gender identity influences my life extremely, I just want to be called they/them pronouns. In a world that seems so non accepting though, coming out is a struggle that persists with me. Most of the people I'm surrounded by aren't bad people, but they believe in the binary construct. They talk about gender identity as if those who stray from what the 'norm' is are mentally ill. As if some use gender identity as an escape. I've tried coming out before to my family, the only response being "What if I want a daughter though?" and "What am I supposed to call you than? It?". So, I went back into the metaphorical closet and pretended that my "phase" was over. But I feel guilt stir in me, as I struggle to speak the truth, if not to my family, at least to my boyfriend. But I worry he won't accept me, like nearly everyone else before him. And... I just don't know what to do anymore. I don't want hide stuff from him. Should I try harder to open up or just dismiss the idea?

Thanks for reading! I know this was a mouthful, but it just feels nice to talk about this. If you have any advice, that'd be great... though I have no idea how this forum works. Have a good morning/day/evening/night.

Re: Keeping Secrets From Your Loved Ones

Hey @IWishForTheVoid 

Welcome to the forums Smiley Happy