cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Misunderstood in Melbourne: Rant.

Hey forum, 

I irritated by the potrayal of international students in Melbourne and Australia in general.

"So like your rich..."

" How does it feel for  mommy and daddy to pay for everything ? " ( Patronizing)

" Like you have money...."

" It's not fair you don't have to work.... "

" I feel bad you come from a  heaps Povo country"

Just the poor treatment i get for being honest that I'm an international student on a visa. I was just hurt by one person and peers made a passing comment.

2nd one in particular is makes me want to return the sledge to make sure to actually hurts because my parents have an awful relationship and I worry alot about how am I going to pay that 36k aud bill after Uni to the point of emotional break down due to the fear and negative outlook for traditional career options.

I have gone out of my way to find volunteer roles and take to bad unfulfilling ones and to the ones that's require more commitment and skill.

I took PT to get to these jobs and only have a bike to depend on to get around.  Learning English as an entirely different second language here. Coming from a rural part of a developing country during my intial upbringing.

Choosing australia just so I can have some form of protection from a form of suppression 

While I deal with the fear of getting turned down because I wasn't the right nationality or have the wrong visa.

Jesus, I apologise that didn't choose to be born in australia like I had the option to just hop on the wagon and say yeah nah let's get loose soon at the back of the Ute.

Many times my body has ached from my road bike.