cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving out!

Ive recsntly started a new job which is going great, im getting plenty of shifts and earning heaps from those shifts. Im a nurse so my work will always be shifts at weird times but i prefer the earlier starts and early finishes, i cant see myself in a 9-5 job.

Im a casual at the moment but can request to be put onto part time or full time in January.

Now that im earning pretty much what my mum is earning, shes been bringing up the idea of me moving out soon. Shes been asking if ive started looking, if ive viewed any properties, if ive applied for any. Im starting to get the hint she wants me out asap and tbh, i want to be out asap! 

Im just worried that i wouldnt be able to afford it though. Thats my only concern.

I already have 2 weeks rent saved away which i havent needed to touch, i know how to budget. I would have about $850 left over each fortnight once i take rent, car loan, phone bill, insurance and groceries. Is that enough? 

Re: Moving out!

Hey @SakuraN,

Congratulations on the new job, so awesome to hear it's going well!

Moving out sounds like an big, but exciting step for you! Do you have any friends that have moved out recently? Is it possible to talk to them about how they've gone affording this and see if they have any tips or tricks? Or maybe if you and your mum are earning a similar amount, as you said, could she have any tips or advice on moving out?

Everybody has different things in their budgets/different things to save for etc, so it would be difficult to say what 'enough' is, but it definitely seems like you've taken into account some of those big expenses that come up.

Congratulations again on the job, please do keep us up to date on how you're going with the house hunting/budgeting!

Hey @SakuraN, well done on the new job! Smiley Happy That's so exciting!