cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My friend is changing in a bad way

Hey RO
It's been a long time since I last posted. Now I'm in second year uni Smiley Tongue
Anyway, here it goes. So last year, my friend from high school went on a 6 month long trip to Europe where he had a great time. He hadn't been coping well in high school so this was a really good experience for him and I am legitimately happy for him. The only thing is, he came back and he's now unpleasant to be around. Here's kind of list of issues:
1. When he got back, he talked a lot about women he had met up with overseas. He was never gross about it but, with me being in a 4 year relationship, I have nothing to add to it.
2. This goes onto a broader point that he always talks about himself. He never asks questions that may open up a two way conversation, he just talks about what he is doing. As described by my girlfriend "he doesn't talk with you, he talks AT you"
3. At my 20th, he was very unpleasant to my uni friends, who he hadn't met before. Instead of trying to introduce himself, he kind of talked down to them or simply just tried to talk to me about stuff that none of them get in on. He also was weirdly aggressive when playing frisbee
4. He invited me on a trip to Japan with our friend group and I couldn't go because I don't have enough money. He kind of acted like I just didn't want to be involved. He even asked me again to come to Japan in a way that sounded like that I just didn't want to go. Again, I told him I couldn't afford it. He then went on to tell me about a "million dollar startup" that he was starting with some of our friends (this would be something he would talk about a lot).