cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

-Party Drugs -

Hey,

I wanted to start a discussion about why people feel they need to do drugs! I have no personal experience with any type of party drug yet I really would like to hear people's reasons why they pop a pill when the risks are so real and familiar? Issues such as peer pressure and low self-esteem are often said to be reasons behind using. However, I am very reluctant to use these points as justification when there are so many alternative positive and productive ways of coping with problems without the overwhelming risks of using.

Drug use definitely effects more people than just the user even though it may seem like a very individual and immediate risk.

Party drugs include Ice, Ecstasy, Cocaine, etc.

The ReachOut website lists more and includes facts on each one: http://test.au.reachout.com/Tough-Times/Alcohol-and-other-drugs/Party-Drugs.

Please feel free to disagree with me and share your opinions and experiences with party drugs. As I've said, I have no close experience with them [partly due to my choice of pubs over clubs Robot Happy]

Re: -Party Drugs -

Hi stripes Smiley Happy

I've never had any experience with party drugs either, but a friend of mine has used them in the past (specifically LSD). From what he's told me, his reasons for doing it were to use it as an escape from reality (because it was fun when his life wasn't going well), because he was hanging out with other people who did it, he saw it as a safer drug, it's not addictive, and because famous people were using/have used it too. 

Hey, thank you for sharing your friend's story Robot Happy
However, there are still other means of escapism which would be much more fulfilling for him/anyone..In the forum post on sleep problems someone raised the idea of meditation as a way to relax. Also, talking to a professional psychiatrist or someone else would be a better option than trying to ignore the problem through LSD.