cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The wanna-be doctor

So yeah, as you may see "I want to be a doctor." but I am not sure if I can be one.

I am thinking of doing the following subjects next year but apparently Mathmatics is a requirement for Medicine, NOT General Maths.

General Maths, Advanced English, Extension 1 English, Business Studies, Chemistry, Biology and Photography.

I don't know what to do. My problem is just maths, other than that, i got the subjects i need to run into my 'dream' but sometimes i think, what's the whole point when my 'dreams' are too big...

Re: The wanna-be doctor

Who says that your dreams are too big? I have a dream of pursuing a PhD and I'm only sixteen Smiley Tongue

I think what's really important is realizing that there are always other ways of getting to where you want to be. A lot of unis these days require you to do a Bachelor degree (sometimes they specify you have to do it in Science/Biomedicine) and then apply for Medicine once you graduate. So even if you don't get into MBBS you're still not disadvantaged Smiley Happy

Another thing, you'll hear this a LOT and that's because it's SO true - DO WHAT YOU ENJOY AND ARE GOOD AT. I made the mistake of choosing a Year 11 subject that I was reasonably good at but absolutely hated. In the end I ended up sticking it out for a term but then quitting halfway through the semester - which resulting in me failing the unit. Don't make that mistake Smiley Tongue If you choose what you enjoy from the beginning you'll make things so much easier for yourself Smiley Happy

I don't think the dream is too big - it's totally achievable for you Smiley Happy
They do bridging courses at uni for General Maths to Mathematics or even extension courses... The direct route is only one way of getting in (and it's probably the least fun, come to think about it Smiley Tongue ) Don't give up! Smiley Happy
All your other subjects look great Smiley Happy

hey Doni,