cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

schoolies

hey everyone, im in my last year of high school, yr 12, and i really want to go to schoolies or go on a little trip after i graduate but im not sure what to do or where to go, plus i only have like two friends and im not sure if they will be able to go to schoolies. Just wondering what everyone else is thinking of doing for schoolies if anyone has any plans, or what you might have done if youve already graduated. i know schoolies isnt a huge deal, but i really want to go and just experience a bit of an adventure before i have to be a fully functioning adult. thanks.

Re: schoolies

Hey @indieinsanus how exciting that it's your last year of school! 

I went to schoolies when I graduated and I had an awesome time. I was lucky that my parents allowed me to go and I had saved money that year/got some graduation money to afford it. 

It can be quite expensive so that is definitely something to consider. 

The schoolies experience is great if you are going to have fun responsibly with your friends. I unfortunately saw a lot of people getting into dangerous situations and in trouble with the police but I was lucky that I had my friends and we always looked out for each other. You could consider is maybe going down with a friend for a day or 1 night stay if you want to experience it. 

It's really great that you're open to other ideas, all of these things you can do with your friends or family depending on how your parents feel about you travelling to different places.

Other ideas would be to: 

• Go camping for a few nights
  • A weekend trip to another city - I live in Brisbane and love going to Melbourne or Sydney
  • Save all your money for a bigger trip the year after you graduate - travelling to a different country is amazing and although you might want to celebrate with a trip straight after graduating, perhaps setting a bigger goal for the following year would be even better!