cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

uncomfortable with my body

Hi guyys,

im new to reach out and i don't really know how it works. just wanted to know if anyone else sometimes feels like this. (im 14 btw)

i tell myself that Im fat so i diet, but then that crashes and burns so i end up 'treating' myself with a few sweet things. then i feel really guilty afterwards so i scold myself. im so confused... is dieting good or bad? am i fat or skinny? do i even deserve food? how much should i be eating, because i feel like a pig all the time...

thanks in advance xxxx

Re: uncomfortable with my body

Hey @xx_bubbles_xx 

Welcome to ReachOut.com! Sometimes, we can feel insecure or not as great with how our body looks - so you're definitely not alone. We all come in different shapes and sizes and there's beauty in everyone of us. 

Personally, I don't find dieting bad - it really comes down to how you diet. It really is ok to treat yourself once in a while or schedule a 'cheat' day to take small breaks from eating healthy. What's not ok is when you end up depriving yourself of food, beating yourself up about eating certain foods and feeling bad about yourself. I believe that maintaing a healthy diet as well as doing some regular exercise could benefit you - not only in reaching your goals in looking your best but also feeling your best. 

Instead of focusing on the what you can't eat, how about thinking about what you can eat? The upside of this is that you can discover so many different recipes and types of food that you could cook/make as well as being healthy at the same time. Scheduling a 'cheat' day or saying to yourself that you'll have a small treat at the end of the week is also a wonderful way too. This way, you can still indulge in sweet food without going overboard or feeling pressured to stick with nutritious stuff.