cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CBT not working...Should I try something else?

Heyo,

So to keep long story short iv been in CBT for 3 years 3 different psychologists and tbh I don't think it's done much (I saw a psychiatrist and I found him the best even though we did no therapy).  

Background: I have severe health anxiety and Generalised anxiety and a bit of agoraphobia, iv have done CBT, talking therapy and DBT and they aren't bad I just don't feel like iv improved much if at all and the improvement I have seen is honestly, in my opinion, my medication. I do the homework and go to sessions and pay attention etc. I like my therapists I just haven't really found it useful. Im specifically anxious about health and dying and my own mortality. CBT hasn't helped because it's about identifying irrational thought patterns but I KNOW I'm being irrational. 

Example; I get a headache and think oh I'm dying I'm having a stroke and I'm a med student I know I'm not having a stroke but despite the fact that I am able to be rational about it and know I'm probably fine doesn't help me, I'm still anxious and worried. 

The fact that I can't control most things in life and that death is inevitable and that any of us could suddenly just drop dead without warning makes me panic. I KNOW that all of these things are possible and that there is no point worrying about it because I can't know or control it but this doesn't mean I'm not anxious or that it doesn't affect my life negatively. 

I can't get rid of this fear and I can't control if I die so how can I just accept that this is how life is I can't do anything about it and just deal with the fact that death is inevitable and that life is almost entirely random and unpredictable? 

Also what kinds of therapies are based on science/studies (I don't like wishy-washy therapy styles) that are good for anxiety, OCD and health anxiety that might help me based on the above explanation?