cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dealing with my self

I won't be telling you my name. But, I'm a business owner in the south, I'm 30 years old, and I'm engaged to my dream girl. Her daughter calls me Daddy. We built our business together. I love her with all of my being.

Unfortunately, I am not always the best person. I'm conceited, blunt, and if I'm not careful I will take a negative outlook on things. I act without thinking, I run from my problems, and I make excuses for myself.

About a day ago, a girl from my past contacted me. At first I ignored it, but eventually I buckled. Did I talk about any specific topic I wasn't supposed to? No. But did I tell my fiance this happened? No. I didn't tell her because I wanted to be able to deal with things on my own.

I've made a huge mistake. Instead of leaning on her for support, I omitted the situation from her. Early this morning, my fiance looked at my phone, which she was entitled to do, and saw the messages. Once again, nothing graphic. Nothing bad. Nothing sexual. But definitely I shouldn't have been talking to the other girl at all.

Now I am hurting. And I probably deserve to. She won't talk to me, look at me, much less sleep next to me or hold my hand. We are still getting married, but I don't want her to hurt. I want her to get back the same joy she had yesterday.

I need help dealing with myself. I need help admitting my faults and coping or even conquering them. I need to show her that I made a mistake but that I do love her, that she is my everything. But I also need to deal with my faults and issues.

It is so hard knowing she loves me so much, when I don't feel like I deserve it. She does so much for our little family, and for our business. How could I have been so foolish? Why did I do this?