cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Helping a LGBT friend with self-acceptance

Hi guys,

This is my first time using these boards and I've been pushed into action by the sight of my friend struggling with their sexuality. They have expressed to me the knowledge that they are same sex attracted but are yet to "accept it" (their words). Being same sex attracted myself, at first I thought I could offer the kind of support and experience that might help them.

That is, until I realised they are encountering struggles I never had to deal with and thus try as I might cannot fully grasp, specifically the issue of religion. From what I can gather they are unable to reconcile their sexuality with their spirituality. It would appear that their spirituality is also strongly tied to their sense of community; family, friends and social activities are often centred around their religion.

My friend is at a place where right now I have to wait until theyre ready before I offer them the kind of help they truly need, so I guess what I'm hoping to find here is someone who can help me understand what it might be like for them and the specific struggles they might be fighting. Any advice to do with self acceptance would be great really! 

Thanks in advance! Smiley Happy

Re: Helping a LGBT friend with self-acceptance

well i think all you can do is be really supportive and tell her u will be there for her anyway and just tell her your always down for a chat 24 7 its the best u can do

Highlighted

Hey Martel,