cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Housemate will addiction problems

Hi. I was renting a house on my own but I sublet the spare room to my friend the past couple months. We get on well. She’s not here too often though. She’s always out partying, drinking, taking drugs, then dips into depression and doesn’t leave her room for days. She has bi-polar disorder and she doesn’t always take her medication and obviously the recreational drugs don’t help. I don’t want to live with her anymore to be honest. I can afford the place on my own. We have discussions about her making better choices but it doesn’t happen. I don’t like seeing her in a toxic cycle and I’m getting frustrated. I’m losing my respect for her. I know substance abuse is a complicated problem and to a degree she doesn’t have control over it. I want to support her as best I can but I’m not very experienced in dealing with someone with drug or alcohol addiction. I’ve been considering taking a hard love approach and telling her that if she doesn’t start taking steps forward and making an effort to change, that I’ll ask her to leave. She has parents who she can live with quite easily. She goes there often anyway and they would welcome her back, so she wouldn’t be kicked to the curb so to speak. Is this a fair way to go about things? Am I being harsh? I don’t want to hurt her or make her go in an even deeper downward spiral. My home is very sacred to me. I don’t have family support and so providing a safe, healthy, secure environment for myself is a priority because I don’t have anyone to fall back on. If it’s jeopardised, I’m left in a difficult situation. What should I do? How do I do the right thing by both her and myself? 

Thanks in advance for any advice or support 😊

Highlighted

Re: Housemate will addiction problems