cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am unsure of whether I should quit my casual job!

Hi everyone!

So I am 16 turning 17 and I have been working at my casual job at a burger place for about two months now and every time I work I always feel really anxious to the point where I feel sick. I even get anxiety when the rosters come out which I do not want to feel. In the past I did work at a fast food restaurant when I was 15 doing front stuff such as ordering taking and I never felt the way that I do with my current job and now that I am starting year twelve I want to focus on school and get good results which is already making me feel anxious and I do not want to have all this added anxiety working a job that I absolutely hate as it is a back of house position and it is really busy all the time at my work which doesn't help with my anxiety. Also my managers always shift outside of the times that I am available and I have spoken to them countless times about it yet they choose to ignore it and by them doing that it makes it difficult for me to get home from work as I have to take public transport home and I do not live close to my work.

To be honest my main issue is that I don't want it to seem as if I cannot keep a job as I only stayed at the other fast food restaurant for six months and now if I quit my current job it would have only been two months. I have spoken to both my parents about this and my dad seems fine with it as he would rather me focus on school but my mum is disappointed in me as she doesn't believe that I can handle having two responsibilities at the same time.  So am I doing the wrong thing by quitting?

Thanks!

Re: I am unsure of whether I should quit my casual job!

Hey @rainbowcats157 (Love your username btw Cat Very Happy