cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to be born with depression?

For my entire life I feel like I've never really been happy..
I'm 15 now and I've been bullied for 10 years.. I had to change schools 6 times.. Twice when I was 5.

My mother and father both have/had depression.

Re: Is it possible to be born with depression?

Hi Becky.

There is some evidence that depression can be inherited through genetics, although the research on this is still developing. I'm not a doctor so I couldn't say whether or not it's possible to be born with depression. I imagine it would be difficult to test for depression in babies.

Having said that, just because your parents have depression, doesn't mean you will automatically get it. Have you spoken to a counsellor or a doctor about how you're feeling? You can call Kid's Helpline any time of day or night and speak to a counsellor there, if you would feel more comfortable remaining anonymous. Their number is 1800 55 1800.

I'm so sorry to hear about your experiences with bullying. Changing schools so often must have been very difficult. Do you have friends and people you can trust now at school? If it is ongoing, this factsheet might help you.

I hope you can stick around and check out other areas of the forum. There are some great threads about being positive and proactive about your own happiness which are fantastic when you're feeling blue. It's also comforting to know you're not alone and that many of us here have struggled through similar issues and emotions.

I've been diagnosed with depression..

Have you discussed treatment options with your doctor or your mental health professional? Depression is tough but there are ways to manage it, such as cognitive behavioural therapy. You could try a program like MoodGYM to get you started.

Exercise is also a good way to naturally boost your mood, and learning a new hobby or skill can help keep your mind off things.