cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Moving out

I'm a recent high school graduate who'll be finished with HSC exams by November and I need help. I love my family, don't get me wrong, but I feel suffocated in my own home. I'll be sharing a room with my kid sister next year as an adult, I haven't been allowed a part time job during high school because it would 'distract from my studies', my parents control everything I say, do, watch etc and I can't cope with it for much longer. I need to move out but I don't know how I'd do that without a job or money or anything. Can someone help?

Re: Moving out

Welcome to the forum @gracesquared thanks for opening up here about what's been happening for you. It does sound very tense and stressful. It seems like you're so close to finishing but you're feeling a big lack of independence which is necessary for moving out etc. Since you're still at home, finding small ways to cope for now would be very very important. The bottom line is, if you've made up your mind to move out, then you WILL get there. It honestly really does sound tough so don't misunderstand me with what I'm about to say. I would suggest that despite how bad it gets at home with the control and lack of freedoms, remember it is temporary. Focus on what you DO have from this situation (even small things like a warm bed or food etc). Like you said, you do love your family so that's important to focus on too. I'd be gathering/guessing that your folks show their care by control and that's hard.