cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Silly Unbreakable Nail Biting Habit.

I just wanted some advice on how to break this habit. I know its gross, and whatever I've already had those lectures. And no matter what anyone does I can't stop. That nail polish crap doesnt work, it tastes manky and I just makes me not want to put it on. I just want to do bite them soo much that nothing stops it. Like I don't literally want to bite them I wish I could stop but its more of a subconcious want. I do it without realizing when I'm hungry, watching movies, bored. I've been doing it for 12 yrs.

Anyone who's going through this aswell lets chat. Or you can give me advice or ideas.

Re: My Silly Unbreakable Nail Biting Habit.

I hear you endommage, I used to bite my nails and stopped that by moving onto biting my cuticles! It makes my hands look disgusting and I always have gross torn up skin around my nails. Even when you decide to stop doing it, its that unconscious habit that sneaks your hands back into my mouth when you aren't thinking and before you know it - chewed to shreds.

I did find that taking up an interest in nail art made me less likely to bite my nails. If I had just spent half an hour painting them, I didn't really want to ruin that nice manicure.

Hey Endommage,

I've never personally experienced biting my nails. But I pick at them all the time, I can never grow them long. But because the distance between the cuticle of my nail to the tip is long people always say I have such long nails, but in reality they don't get much past my nail bed before I pick at them to shorten them...

Anyway back on topic, I know there is this stuff you can buy that is supposed to stop you from biting your nails, I'm not sure if your tried it or not but if you haven't it might be worth giving it a shot.