cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: desperate need of support

Hey. I’m not an expert but just thought someone with similar experiences could help you to realise that you are not alone. My mum’s partner which I have known for about 10 years now has always been emotionally and verbally abusive towards me. Since I have gotten older, he has gotten worse and I’ve actually never written on a forum before until today because of what happened. I really don’t know where I have gone wrong but he calls me every name under the sun, belittles all of my achievements and basically will do anything to bring me down. Now, I can’t relate to some of the other issues you have mentioned but I thought I would still share this anyway. You are not alone and although I don’t even know who you are, I believe in you and you are strong enough to push through this pain. Thankyou for sharing your situation. It helps others in ways you wouldn’t even begin to understand x

Hey @Beaharvey

First of all I would like to welcome you to the ReachOut community! It's really great to have you hear, and we really appreciate you being so brave to share your support and thoughts on this issue. 

I just wanted to double check that you're doing ok right now. You mentioned that you've been experiencing some very difficult stuff with your mum's partner for quite a while. How are you coping? Do you feel safe at home and around him? I also just wanted to know if you've ever told an adult before, like a teacher or doctor or anything like that?

I would really, really like to recommend that you take a look at some of the resources Gina mentioned in their post above, as they could also be helpful to you and your situation. 
Sending my support Heart

Hey,