cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Reaching out to anyone with OCD or anxiety

Hey @Pariscat16

It is so good to hear from you again on the Reach Out forums. I think its great you are taking initiative and seeking help. In terms of what CBT is I am not qualified but I am studying psychology at university, and I have used CBT to help with my OCD.

@DruidChild gave a pretty top-notch definition of CBT. In my case, I started to recognise the way I felt when I didn't dust my desk (that was my issue at the time), I accepted that thats how I felt and over time I learnt to change the way I thought about dust on my desk. I am not saying it happened over night, but with effort and dedication it worked! 

In terms of the exposure therapy, I guarantee that the psychologist won't make you do that until they think you are ready. But the videos online you see of exposure therapy are not how its going to be. I know there was a video circulating a little bit ago, about a woman who was terrified of peaches. And they filmed her exposure thearpy to peaches in front of a live audience. And if you psychologist wants to put you on live TV to do exposure therapy. I'd find a new psychologist! haha!

Also, on a side note. You like neo-classical?! That is my favourite style too!!! I am actually a dance teacher, so I'd love to have a chat about dance if you wanted to one day!

Hope to hear from you soon Heart

Hi, again @DruidChild

Thanks for your help there has been so much on my mind recently one thing that I did not mention about my OCD is the fact that I restrict myself from doing things. I'm not sure if this is still OCD or something else but for example, there are certain words I can't say, certain colours I can't touch, even clothes I can't wear. I'm not sure if this is OCD and is part of the fear. Do you know? 

Have you ever been on medication if so what was it like and what were the side effects?