cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Work bullying

I have a four year apprenticeship ahead of me (baker/pastry cook). I've only been doing it for a few months and I'm absolutely loving it. Although there's a guy I work with who is very rude and sly. He makes nasty/rude comments where no one else is able to hear them except for me and they range from about my appearance to the others who work there/the boss. Lately he's being blaming things on me that I haven't done but he's doing it sneakily where I'm unable to do anything about it. It's been going on for a couple of months now and it's making me hate the job and I have no idea what to do about it as it will always be my word against his and obviously they'd take his word as he's the fully qualified worker and I'm just a young apprentice and I feel that because everyone likes him there that they'd think I'm lying and it'll come back onto me because I have trouble making friends with people as I'm really quiet.

What do I do? I'm so stuck and I'm sick of being so miserable about it, I just don't know what to do. 

Re: Work bullying

Hi @Kizza,

Welcome to ReachOut and thank you for sharing what has been happening for you. I'm really sorry to hear how much this person has impacted your enjoyment of working and learning to become a chef. Bullying in the workplace is never okay. ReachOut has some great resources on workplace bullying that may be helpful to you in knowing what to do and where to go for information. This video here gives some examples of what counts as workplace bullying and this page here gives some ideas of steps you can take to address it.

Have you spoken to anyone about what is happening at work like family or friends?

There are other ReachOut members that have also had similar experiences and you might find reading their posts helpful Heart

Check out our community activities calendar for July 2019 here

hello @Kizza and welcome