cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[CHAT] Don't Dis my Ability.

I sit at a table trying to write ‘Hello, my name is….’ I’m aware of giggles around me. I'm struggling, not because I have an obscure name, but because I am writing with my wrong hand while wearing an oven mit. It is a weekly session for those with brain injury and, as a student helper, Jo (a good friend of mine with a brain injury) has told me that this is what writing is like when you have a brain injury.

‘How does someone write like this?’ I think to myself as I stare at the unconnected series of smudges and scribbles I’ve produced. I’ve seen the members here write many times, and often they are neat and legible.  Yet, my task was simple compared to some; the student next to me is having a hard time getting dressed with one arm taped to her side and her leg in a makeshift cast. 

Brain injury is only one type of disability – I use it as an example as it is the type I am most familiar with. Disability can be physical, mental, emotional, developmental, or sensory, just to name a few realms. It can be visible or hidden, permanent or transient, mild or severe. The spectrum of disability is vast.

What has been most apparent since joining in these sessions, is the overwhelming ability of the members. Their humour is off-the-wall, their enthusiasm is relentless, many have adapted physically, and their optimism is infallible.

The other week one member brought in a portrait of a kookaburra and, I swear, it was better than what one might find in an art gallery.

Having a disability does not mean that you have nothing to offer. In fact, it might make way for new-found strengths, greater compassion and understanding, or give insight that makes you the perfect helper for another person.

Focusing on strengths, rather than dwelling on the negatives, is crucial for a greater livelihood, especially if you live with a disability.