cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: [CHAT] The future of getting help - what would you do?

8000+ professionals and $9 billion dollars is crazy. Is it doable? I am not so sure... At least if things stay the way they currently are...

If this is what is needed than the government needs to look at ways to get more people studying these options and make it more cost effective for them. For instance, what they did with nursing and teaching - they subsidised university costs to get more people studying it. Maybe that is going to need to happen with mental health courses (e.g. psychology, psychiatry, social work) as well?

But I also think we need to invest more in getting students doing actual clinical work early on. I have been studying psychology for the past 5 years (am now in 4th year) and we have done NOTHING practical. At my university (one of the biggest in Australia) they train psychologists to be researchers NOT to be professionals who treat the mentally ill. Researching is a vital part of psychology but maybe it would be more effective to let people choose in second year if they want to take the practical or the research route. Courses need to be redesigned to include more practical aspects to them so that more psychology students choose the practical avenues instead of the research avenue. That's just my opinion.

Highlighted

Where it says 8,000+ mental healths professionals are needed in the graphic, it would be interesting to see if there is a specific breakdown of what sorts of professionals are needed, because there is quite a diverse range of professionals that work in mental health (e.g. counsellors, psychologists, psychiatrists, occupational therapists, doctors, dieticians...)

I am not really surprised by the number of people who aren't seekng help (so many are not aware of the services available, and some are diagnosed when it's too serious), but I am surprised by the lack of professionals provided.