cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Live GR: Identity and Self-Acceptance, 9th of September, 7:30 pm AEST

How would you describe yourself? What elements of your identity are important to you?
I'm not that good at describing myself, but something that has helped me in the past was finding what my strengths are. I've taken an online quiz (I think it's called the VIA Survey of Character Strengths but it's on a few different websites and in different formats) a few times. The last time I took it, I was told my strengths are appreciation of beauty and excellence, kindness and generosity, bravery and valor, love of learning, and honesty, authenticity and genuineness. I've written down ways I can use my strengths in my notes.
Family is also really important to me. Some parts of my identity are rooted in family ties. I'm a young carer, but I'm also an advocate for my family members. I often don't like having to be a carer but it's an important part of my identity.

We can be lost together and not know who we are together @Lost_Space_Explorer5 ! 😂

oh hey @MB95, don't worry about jumping in late, you're welcome to join any time! Smiley Happy Happy to have you here!

You see this is why my name is Lost_Space_Explorer5 Smiley Tongue @MB95

How would you describe yourself? What elements of your identity are important to you?
Oh... I'm imagining how I'd describe myself to a stranger.

The 'obvious' seems to be that I'm a psychology + literature student, because everyone asks you what you do/ where you work/ what school you go to. No matter where you go! Also, that I am a woman. Next would be where I live, though I don't really like to identify myself by where I live, since I love travelling more than being at home.

Other things that might or might not come up through observation/ depends on the topic include:
-That I am very passionate about promoting mental health!
-That I am a creative thinker.
-That I'm a member of the LGBT+ community.