cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Volunteering

I think we had a thread about this going ages ago but I thought it would be good to hear from some of our newer members of the forum community. 

I've been volunteering for a for a couple of organisations for a few years now. I wanted to share the benefits it has for me and my community in the hope that people have a think about how they can contribute to the world around them through volunteering. If you already volunteer I'd love to hear what your role is and what you like most about it. 

One of my volunteer roles is as a mentor at an organisation that supports youth at risk. Most of the young people supported in this organisation are under child protection orders or in the justice system. My mentoring role is specifically with people who live in residential care because they cannot live with their families. The aim of the program is to increase confidence, social skills and self isteem. 

Each week I see the participants grow, discover new things about themselves, challenge themselves and each other. I can't even put how great that is to see into words. Looking at the broader picture, not only is each individual effected but so are their communities now that they have more strong willed and empowered young people looking at making a difference in their lives. 

I certaintly didn't apply for this role with myself in mind but after being involved for nearly a year I'm a seeing so much change and growth within myself, having the oppurtunity to use my experiences to help others who may been in similar situations to what I have in the past makes me feel really valued and empowered.