cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BIRTHDAY BLUES (It's my party and I will cry If I want to)

Hi my name Is Yuno and my birthday is coming up very fast.
I will be turning 21 and It's nothing to be happy about.
Birthdays in my opinion is mediocre celebrations about getting closer to old age. 
Where people who have never given a single fuck, pretend like they've always cared about you. 
Yay.
Half the time they don't even call or say anything to you, but it's something about this awful date that makes people turn to mush. 

They really couldn't care less, it's for keeping up appearances. 
Why should I be happy? 
21 years of my life and I'm in the same mundane place I've always been for the last 4-5 years of my life. 

Money-less, bored and spiteful. 
I'm doing a degree I'm not even sure I like, tidying up a house I hate, and best of all I'm flat broke so I can't even hang out with the people that DO seem to give a shit (my friends). 
I might even cry I'm that miserable.
God I hate birthdays. 
Sometimes I just wish I could sleep through the birthday date like it's some nightmare and continue on with my own sad pathetic life,
Birthdays are overrated and I hate that mine is so soon. 
Any advice on how to get through this stupid and traumatic event? (My Birthday) / avoid all the fake people that suddenly "care"?

Re: BIRTHDAY BLUES (It's my party and I will cry If I want to)

Hey @YunoGasai , birthdays can be a really challenging time - sorry to hear how tough it is for you. 

As you said in your title - you can absolutely cry if you want to - nothing wrong with expressing how you feel. 

When is your birthday? Perhaps you could plan to do something that you feel comfortable with - maybe watching some movies at home, or arranging to chat with one of the friends you mentioned who care about you?