cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Being mistreated

I don't know what to do. My friends want me to speak up, but I'm too scared...

So, there's this guy at my placement - his not my supervisor or anything, just a worker. His constantly rolling his eyes at me, and making these rude noises which makes me feel super uncomfortable. He speaks to me in a very condescending tone, and makes me do everything while he just lazes around. He left me to look after everyone, when I saw him sitting on his phone around the corner. I'm only a student, and not qualified to watch everyone myself - I'm only allowed to observe what the staff do. That's one example, of many that his done. I don't look forward going into placement because of him. 

One day, I overheard him saying that he dislikes his job, and he feels embarrassed going out.

I don't want to speak up because I'm afraid of confrontation. I'm afraid of him treating me worse when he finds out I've dobbed on him. 

Smiley Sad

Thanks for reading!Smiley Happy

Re: Being mistreated

Hey @honky,

Thanks for reaching out! Smiley Happy I think it's great that you've managed to bring this up with your friends as well Smiley Happy

Is there anyone else that you know of who experiences these same things this worker has done to you?

@honky I can totally understand being afraid of confrontation Smiley Sad if you're uncomfortable chatting to the supervisor at placement, could you chat to a staff member at uni? Being made to do things which are outside your scope of practice is a huge no-no. It sounds like your friends are being really supportive - maybe you could approach someone together? Strength in numbers and whatnot

thanks so much for responding @lokifish & @Esperanza67Smiley Happy