cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Binge eating doing my head in!!!!!

Hi Peeps,

I suffer with bulimia however I haven't purged for a cpl of months but I'm still binge eating and its really doing my head in. I'm a personal trainer and right into my fitness and being healthy, about 2 years ago I had a breakdown and my bulimia came back with a vengance. I managed to just swap my addiction from eating, smoking, drinking and drugs. I had stop all those had been smoke free and binge free and acholol free for a few years until my very bad relationship.

I'm ready to stop again as the last few weeks have been crazy, I have a sore mouth from the amount of chocolate I'm eating and I'm always wanting more, considering I have been really really healthy at one stage this is really hard, and sometimes I just want to curl up into a ball and not wake up from it.

I think that sugar addiction is so bad globally and would love to be rid of the white death once and for all.

Highlighted

Re: Binge eating doing my head in!!!!!

Hi @flippa 

Welcome to RO.com

I am sorry things are hard for you. Thank you for reaching out.

I also have urges to do destructive things. One thing I do to manage it is by delaying the urge being carried out. Urges comes in waves. At one point it is strong, but if you hang in there, the urge spills over and comes back down. So, before you decided to head into the kitchen and grab a bar of chocolate, could you try and sit with the feeling for 5 secs longer? When the 5 secs is over, tell yourself "I am doing well, just another 5 seconds." Eventually the urge would pass.

Another strategy I would use is distraction. I thinking reading a book helps. It definitely takes my mind off all of reality, including the urges. Do you have a favourite novel you could get your mind hooked on when you felt like binging?

Doris

Hi  @flippa