cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coming to terms with it all! It took me 4 years

Hi All,

I must start by saying that I am very new to all of this, so bare with me. I don't even know if this is the right forum to be posting in, but here I go.

Over the past 4 years my life has been a struggle. I have battled every day with obsessive compulsive disorder, depression and worst of all a drug addiction. It has only been in the past few months that I have recognized and come to terms with the fact I have an issue, and more than one. 

I wonder to myself, "What has happened in the past few months to finally motivate me to change?" I have struggled with an addictions to marijuana/legal highs for the past 4 years, I am smoking just as much now than I was then, so why now? 

For what ever reason, I am truly grateful. I must have come to the point in my life where enough was enough. I am only 22, but I felt like I had wasted my whole life,I had lost all sense of reality, I had become such a bad person. 

I tried to get help several times, but there just wasn't much out there. I think I had it in my mind that I could rock up to a doctor, share my problem and he would give me some sort of tablet and everything would be OK. This clearly wasn't the case, so I just kept on smoking. 

I had the attitude that talking to someone would be of no help. How is talking going to cure my issues? But what an amazing difference it has made. I am only at the beginning of my journey, but if I feel this positive now, I can only imagine how good I will feel in 6-12 months. 

The past 4 years of my life have been the darkest. I have become a totally different person. I have bottled everything up inside of me to the point where I just couldn't take it anymore; it was time for a change.