cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Depression and anxiety? Or not?

So I've been having sad moods for over a year, but never long enough to classify as depression. Then about a month ago I slept with my best friend. It was something I felt mature enough for and I trusted him enough to do that with him. And I still feel that way, and certainly don't regret it. 

But ever since I've been feeling absolutely terrible. I constantly feel that I'm worthless, alone and that there's no point to my life (surprising, since I've always had positive self-esteem). I cry a lot, can never focus and have paralyzing panic attacks where I'm incapable of doing anything at all. And I don't think it's related to how I feel about sleeping with my friend, yet I was fine before I did. 

I don't know if this is depression or anxiety or something that's going to fix itself. But I just want it to stop. 

Re: Depression and anxiety? Or not?

I'm not a doctor, so don't take this as medical advice, but depression and anxiety can be triggered by stress. Any stress.

So definitely sleeping with your best friend, is going to stress you out. You're going to think "Did I do the right thing? What will happen now? Does he love me? Am I going to get burned?" All of this is very stressful, even if you think you have a handle on it, and really like where it is going.

Depression can affect anyone, same as anxiety, and often, we are clueless as to why its happening.

Because of the syptoms you say you are having, I would totally go and see a GP and get a referral to someone that can specifically help you, and pin down exactly whats going on and why you're feeling this way, so that you can get back on with your life and your new relationship!

Hi @lizzieb ,