cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Double standards at home

I'm turning 29 this year and am living at home. I was a teacher and was completing my rural service out west when it all fell apart. I had to come home as I couldn't afford to go or live anywhere else and now after some time, I've finally found a casual job I like to go and am studying for a degree, I've always wanted to do but didn't.

So I work 5/6 days out of the week, when I'm working I'm doing uni study and then when I'm not doing that, I'm trying to get my buisness up from the ground.

But, when I'm at home; I get this strong feeling that I'm a burden and am in the way. I don't go anywhere or spend any money because I can't afford to so why can't they see, that I'm working my ass off just trying to keep myself together.

I have 3 siblings. One brother and two sisters. My brother is a prince, can't do no wrong and literally, when he wants something my parents jump. My younger sister, is currently living in London and she's very much the same, when she wants something my parents jump. My youngest sister is on a sport scholarship in America and my parents are very gracious towards her.

But with me, I swear at times it just doesn't feel right. If I owe my parents, I pay them back. I owe them now, so every week I pay back something towards what I owe. If I ask to have something paid for me and I'll pay them back out of my wages for the week, my mother always rants on how much money they don't have etc yet she'll go shopping, have her nails and hair done etc.

I'm quite tech savvy so I'm trying to help them with their technology problems/issues on a daily basis plus trying to complete a website for them to help business etc but again, I feel that they don't really care half the time.