cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fear for future stopping me from living in the "now"

Hey,

Lately I been on a uphill battle mentally as I have suddenly started feeling really empty and isolated. Its weird, I dont want to sound arrogant but I do rather well on the sports field and in the classroom. I am achieving goals and everyone around is proud and happy. But Im not. I feel like everyone is smiling and patting me on the back but I genuinely am not happy. Instead of going to parties and hanging out with mates, I am studying/training with no time spent with real friends. 

I apologize for the long paragraph, I just need advice on how to feel fulfilled, be more social and "get back out there" with family and friends. I dont want to waste my only childhood because I am constantly worrying about my future.

Thanks.

Re: Fear for future stopping me from living in the "now"

Hey @Ryket240 , welcome to Reachout - glad you found us. 

No need to apologise about your post - we are here to listen, and it sounds like you could do with some support Heart

It sounds like you're under a bit of pressure - is that fair to say? The focus on studying, and training must take up a lot of your time and  energy. Not having time for friends and fun stuff can have a big impact on your mood  - is there a way you can factor in more chill out time? 

Enjoying your younger years can be really hard to do when you're feeling pressure about the future. 
Is there anyone you can talk to about this? A friend or someone in your family? 

Maybe your school has a counsellor you could see? 

As for getting back out there socially - as with anything, it's likely going to take one small step at a time. Perhaps you could start by thinking about time in your week you can block out as "free time". Maybe you could try to go to one family or social event a fortnight to start with?  

Hey @Ryket240! Welcome to the forums! Heart