cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tee

Feeling neglected

Hi,

so I'm new at this but I'm going to give it a shot.

Lately I've been feeling pretty unhappy with my life, not that my life is bad, its just feeling that way at the moment. My mum passed away a few months ago and I've moved in with my dad and step mum. I haven't talked to them or my friends about how I'm feeling and I'm pretty lonely. My dad isn't really paying that much attention to me and I don't really know what to do. How do I talk to my friends about how I'm feeling? Should I tell my dad how I feel?

Thanks

Re: Feeling neglected

Hi @tee I'm really sorry to hear about your current situation.  It sounds as though you're really wanting more support from your friends and family, but you feel a bit uncomfortable trying to talk about it?

Talking can be very beneficial, but sometimes it can be tricky to get started.  In the past, other reachout members have suggested writing down what you want to say, either to guide your thoughts, or as a letter?  You could also have a look at these tips for communicating.  Sometimes it can be best to just come straight out and say it.

In terms of who to talk to, just think about what you want.  If you don't want to talk to your dad, then don't.  Alternatively if you do want to, then do!  You shouldn't be feeling guilty or as though you have to.  If you want to talk to someone outside your friends and family, you could try calling lifeline (13 11 14)? They can offer some really great support.  Good luck and keep us in the loop!

Highlighted

Hi @tee, first of all I'm very sorry to hear about the loss of your mum. Losing a family member (especially one that close) is a very tough thing to go through.