cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going through a rough patch

Hi everyone,

Tonight I’m really really struggling. Smiley Sad

My recent friendship issues have started to really take their toll and I feel like a complete and utter failure. I honestly don’t want to bugger things up on the forums like I have with my friends, but I don’t know who else to turn to right now. I’m currently studying my Masters degree, but I really don’t see how I’m going to get through it, considering that I nearly ended up in hospital last year - the issue is that because of the course structure, if something did happen, I would need to wait at least 2 years before I could finish it - which makes it rather imperative from my point of view to just be able to get on with it this year without any problems. I’m in a really good degree and it’s something that I really want to do, but I really don’t know if I’m good enough.

I’m trying to get things done and do my best, I really am, but often the results just leave me wondering about my future - I am even having thoughts tonight about whether I even have a future. Now, while I know these are not the most helpful thoughts, it doesn’t seem to make them any less intense.

I’m going to book in with a uni counsellor/psychologist when I can - hopefully in the next week or two - and hopefully I will be able to have a meaningful relationship with this professional that will help me get through everything.

Thanks for reading guys - let’s hope tomorrow is a little brighter.

Re: Going through a rough patch

Hey @mrmusic it sucks when we are going through friendship heartbreak and it totally seeps into every other aspect of our life - including work/study. It's totally normal to feel like it's having an effect on your masters, but definitely doesn't have to ruin your study schedule.

When you are thinking about the friend stuff and it interferes with your work, what kind of thoughts are cropping up?