cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Hard time after finishing Year 12

I graduated year 12 in December. I've been finding it really hard to move on. I'm at university now. I feel my school friends have moved on and even my closest friend is becoming more distant.

I'm finding it hard to make friends at uni. I'm not confident in myself and I'm shy to start with.

Basically I'm just really lonely. I've really isolated myself because of it and I don't feel like going out much.

I just want a real friend again who actually wants to do things with me Smiley Sad especially someone who shares my interests

Re: Hard time after finishing Year 12

Hey @sm98, and welcome to Reachout!! I'm sorry to hear you are feeling lonely and isolated at the moment Smiley Sad 

I remember the transistion from high school was pretty huge, and lots of school based friendship groups drifted apart once we weren't seeing each other every day.. Have you considered joining any clubs or getting involved in campus activities / o-week? At my uni there is a club for practically everything!!! This can be a really great way to meet people who have similar interests to you, which are the foundations to great friendships Smiley Happy In my experience, the leaders/organisers/presidents/seniour members of the clubs are super nice and friendly, and make a bit effort to make the newbies feel included in the group! Talking about the activitiy/club is also an awesome conversation starter, if you're feeling nervous about that Smiley Happy

Also, have you checked out the hanging out and games threads yet? It's a great place to meet awesome people in our community Smiley Very Happy

@sm98 @Stagnator just thought I'd connect you two here as it looks like you're both going through a similar experience with uni at the moment Smiley Happy