cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I feel like a freak that has no place in society

This is my first time ever posting on this website, so I hope this doesn't come off as selfish.

I am 17 years old and I have mild aspergers, I've been diagnosed since I was 4 years old, ever since I've been ashamed and have hated myself for it, I don't really deal with it as much anymore, I have friends and family, but I'm still ashamed of having it because in society, it is considered shameful to have autism, I've been bullied and mistreated for it, called a "freak", "abomination", or a "failed abortion". Because of this, I have days each week where I'm just down in the dumps, knowing that I exist like this. This is the only place I have to vent at because I don't want to go on social media where all my friends can see it, and my parents get upset at me for feeling like this.

Highlighted

Re: I feel like a freak that has no place in society

hey @SebastianStark, welcome to RO! You are definitely not selfish for posting; this is what the site exists for and it's really great that you are actually using the resources that are here for you to use Smiley Happy

I'm really sorry to hear that you've been struggling with your diagnosis. It's honestly really shitty that you have been mistreated by jerks when there is nothing wrong with you at all, and I can understand why that brings you down. Unfortunately there are people who consider it shameful to have autism and stigma exists, but there are also lots of communities of both autistic and non-autistic people who accept autism as what it really is: something normal and fine and even worth celebrating about yourself.