cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It feels like there’s no point

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about long term future and what’s going to happen to us and the earth. I vacillate between feeling like it’d actually be better if humanity died out and the earth continued without us, and then feeling strong grief for all the things humanity never got to do.

I’m frustrated with why I’m still studying a stupid university course when there are people who need help NOW who I have the skills to take care of, and when my ‘degree’ may become obsolete if society collapses like it looks like it will. I’ve been sad that my dream of one day having and raising a child can’t ever happen and stressing about what I and my family would do if a war started and me and my siblings were conscripted. 

The other day I was sitting by the river near my uni and I promised her that I would try to help heal her and the earth. Now I feel really guilty and anxious because I don’t have the energy to do anything like protesting or cleaning bushland and I feel like everything I do is causing more harm. 

Does anybody else feel like this? 

Re: It feels like there’s no point

Hi @DruidChild
I can see that those are heavy thoughts that are on your shoulders.
I think a lot of people can agree that what's happening to the environment can be quite stressful to us when we think about the future. I've even thought about it at times as well. Atleast on the bright side technology is advancing at such a rate, and we have incredibly smart scientists who are working everyday to help reduce environmental impacts and potentially regain what we have lost, or atleast sustain it.
It sounds like you care a lot for people and the environment which is amazing to see.
Would it also maybe help to call Kids Helpline or Lifeline? They may also be able to support you through what you are feeling.
Here for you Heart
Highlighted