cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Me Against the World?

I've never felt such strong isolation and loneliness until recently.

I've always been quite introverted,and selective of friends. As I get older, it seems harder and harder to make friends. I move to a new city few years ago and still am struggling to find like-minded people to form a healthy support system. People like me, but I don't think they feel like they can relate to me.

Lately I've had a sudden desire to go back to school(law school to be specifc). I started studying for entrance exam, and I feel like this is something I should do as my next stop. But what discourages me the most is that everybody,either don't believe my seriousness, or don't think I can see it through. Which is extremely sad. I was counting on the support of one of my dearest friend, but even her support seems to come and go, at one point she thinks I can totally do it, at another she predicts I'm going to give up. Same as everyone else. Is it so hard to find someone who truly believes in you and support you? Even my family has a hard time thinking I can do it. I know this is something I should do for myself, but having the support of loved ones definitely helps too. On top of not believing I can do it, they don't even seem to care that much. This is a big deal,and I just wish the few people I have in my life including my family would treat it as something important too. Instead of being dismissive and condescending. 

It feels as though it's me against the world. Not only am I isloated by all the study materials, I am truly isolated from everyone else as well. The revelation of no one really gives a damn brought me tremendous saddness. 

Re: Me Against the World?

Hey @whatisgoingon welcome to RO and thanks heaps for sharing your story.

RO is a forum for 14-25 year olds, it may be more beneficial for you to find some online platforms for adults such as Sane Smiley Happy