cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Relationship with my mum

Mum and I have such different personalities. She's very matter of fact about what she says (typical speaks before she thinks person), regardless about how it may impact my feelings. I'm an elite cyclist and she and my Dad have been very supportive towards me financially and driving me places, but I constantly feel like I should feel guilty for everything they do for me. We've had arguments, but mostly its just her yelling at me and me ending up crying. She knows I've got ADD and therefore have trouble concerntrating and getting myself organised but basically her attitude is 'you're just going have to get better'. She's constantly telling me how I'm going to go nowhere in life which is kind of riduculous because i'm a straight A student. I'm constantly tip toeing around her because she's practically a ticking time bomb and I never know whats going to set her off. She had quite a rough childhood, so therefore she always makes me and my brother feel guilty for being 'privlidged and supported' and how we are (I quote) the 'most selfish and self centered children around' and 'how did she go wrong in her parenting'. Today, she informed me and my brother that last night Dad and her decided that not only next year will they be sending my brother off to boarding school, but I literally have until the 31 December to move out of home. Firstly, I doubt this is my Dad's idea because he is the most reasonable person I've ever met in my life. Secondly - I am only 16 years old and am doing year 11 this year!! She's expecting me to move out of home during year 12 (and go where?), the most stressful time of a teenager's life anyway. What makes things worse is that I don't have a job because all my spare time is taken up training, which means that I'm basically going to be forced to temporarilly give up my racing in an effort to support myself. Oh and yes the icing on the cake - I have currently