cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling with being smart

Hi, this is my first time on this website, and I thought I’d try it out. Before I start, I just want to let anyone if they’re listening know that I’m smart, sporty, musical; I don’t like bragging about it but I feel like I can’t handle it. I feel as if I’m always expected to do well so I tire myself and put so much effort into everything just because I’m scared that if I don’t do well in something people won’t like me or respect me anymore. I feel like nobody actually knows me and I’m just ‘the smart kid’; I really hate sometimes that I’m talented sometimes and consider just stopping trying and not care about anything anymore like school, sport or even friends. 

People sometimes get jealous of me and say kind of hurtful things behind my back or to me about how they hate how I’m ‘good at stuff’. I always laugh it off and no one expects me to ever be sad about that kind of teasing; they think I have this perfect life just because I’m good at stuff, so I feel like I’m not allowed to talk about the crap I feel and I’m only ever allowed to act happy. Adding to this is the fact I brought up earlier that if I don’t do well in something it’s pointed out and I put so much pressure on myself and people make fun of me sometimes.

Some other smart people in our grade aren’t going through this; they’re popular, and people don’t make fun of them when they don’t do well or don’t talk behind their backs about how they wish they weren’t good at everything.

This may sound like I’m just bragging and I’m honestly so sorry if it did. It’s just that everyone expects the people who do well at everything to be having an amazing, perfect life and to be happy all the time, but it’s not true.

If this made any sense at all, how can I deal with this? Thanks

Re: Struggling with being smart

Hi @dolphin56 !

Welcome to ReachOut!! Thank you for you brave post Heart